Becoming an MHSAA Registered Official is easy: 
 

The first step is to register in your chosen sports with the MHSAA at www.mhsaa.com or click here.  You are registering with the MHSAA as an independent contractor and not an employee.  You will be given detailed registration instructions and can complete your registration in a matter of minutes.

Once registered, you will receive an Officials ID Number, Login information, and Sports Rules Books from the MHSAA. New Officials must take an MHSAA Officials Guidebook Exam and complete a Mechanics Exam if registering for football and/or basketball.  The Exams are open-book, and may be taken online. 


The next step is to notify and join a local association such as the Kalamazoo Officials Association. The Kalamazoo Officials Association (KOA) is a basketball, football, baseball, and volleyball association.   If you are interested in other sports, the MHSAA maintains a list of approved associations for other sports that may interest you.

 The KOA provides rules meetings, clinics and other learning opportunities for rookies and veterans alike.


After registering, the final step is to contact the Assignors in the area. They will email you an invitation to register on ArbiterSports.  You will need to update your availability on ArbiterSports. This will allow the Assignors to assign you any available games.  It also helps to network with other officials and with athletic directors at schools. Start with a level you are comfortable with (usually middle school), and remember there is no substitute for knowing the rules.

LINKS:

KOA

Board of Directors

Welcome to the KOA Rookie Page. Hopefully the information on this page will help you as you start your officiating career. If you have any questions please don't hesitate to reach out to any of the Board of Directors or Trainers. We look forward to hearing from you and can't wait to meet you.

Football
Todd Gooding:      tgooding20@charter.net
Bob Garvelink:      rgarvelink@portageps.org


Volleyball
Deb Schug:           debidownonthefarm@gmail.com


Basketball
Rob King:              robking1028@hotmail.com
John Creek:
           ajcreek@sbcglobal.net

Wrestling
Trent Anderson:     tande10142@aol.com
John Bishop:         
jbishop@alleganps.org


Baseball
Andrew LaTurner:    andyiu86@yahoo.com


KOA

Trainers by Sport

Assignors' List


Jim Corstange:  jcorstange12@gmail.com

Conferences: SMAC, SAC, Wolverine, & I-8

Sports: Football: Freshmen JV, Varsity  

Basketball: Varsity


Todd Gooding: tgooding@charter.net

Conferences: Cascade

Sports: Football: Miiddle School, Freshmen, JV, & Varsity


Chuck Rawsthorne:  crrfbc@gmail.com

Conferences: SMAC, SAC, Wolverine, & I-8
Sports: Basketball: Middle School, Freshmen, JV 

Baseball: Middle School, Freshmen, JV, Varsity  

Softball: Middle School, Freshmen, JV, Varsity  


Dave Buck:dave@djbuck.com

Conferences: BCS

Sports: Basketball: Middle School, Freshmen, JV, & Varsity


Curt Messing: cmessing33@hotmail.com

Conferences: Kalamazoo Area

Sports: Football: Middle School



Dave Benham:refbenham@sbcglobal.net

Conference: SCAA

Sports: Basketball: Middle School, Freshmen, JV, Varsity




Eric Frohriep: 517-899-4302

​Conference: Southwest 10

Sports: Basketball: Freshmen, JV, Varsity

President: Rob King       

rking@mattawanschools.org

Vice President: Todd Gooding     

tgoodng20@charter.net

Treasurer: Bob Garvelink   

RGarvelink@portageps.org


Secretary: Chad Jackson 

jacksonc2004@hotmail.com

Recruiting Coordinator: Curt Messing   

cmessing33@hotmail.com